An assortment of the stuff that probably shouldn’t ever see the light of day.

So much for that….

 

Model - sketches - sm Model - Hands sketch II - sm model - arm - sm Odd Self Portrait - sm
I’ve done a rotten job of remembering to scan most of the commissions I’ve done lately.  Most of them have been quick 20-minute live portrait paintings, and in the rush to get the customer his or her picture, I’ve neglected to get a copy for myself.  Just one more moment of self-sabotage, brought on by airheadedness.

I hope you enjoy this glimpse inside the sketchbook, in the meantime.

This entry was published on December 15, 2013 at 11:06 pm. It’s filed under Drawings, Watercolors and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “

  1. I like sketches, and these are good. 🙂

  2. Great stuff!

    What medium do you usually use for preliminary work?

    • Millie – the easy answer is “pencil”. When I do preliminary work, the very first stage is almost always a quick pencil sketch or two… or four! After that, though it gets more complicated. Sometimes for watercolors I’ll do a practice watercolor or two. For others, I’ll play around with colors or composition in photoshop. FOr digital work, I may or may not start with pencil and paper, or do the sketches in photoshop. The drawings in this post are just one-off warm-ups that were done directly into watercolor.

Comments are Encouraged:

