Out of Place / Out of Color

I wasn’t able to attend the usual Friday night portrait session at the studio this week.  Instead, I visited a friend’s gallery opening.

The event was called “A Sense of Place” and it took place at Light Grey Art Lab (http://lightgreyartlab.com/).  Check it out.  They run their shows a little differently.  Artists submit their portfolios.  For each show, the curators organize around a theme, then choose artists from their stable of contributors, and ‘commission’ original works for the show.

This time around, the spectacular exhibit was accompanied by a lovely coffee-table book as well featuring all of the “place” themed works.  Among the many beautiful pieces, one of the most notable was a large, interesting piece by an illustrator I follow; Sam Bosma (http://www.sbosma.com/).

I have been working on my own picture with a strong sense of place.  It’s far from finished, but it seemed time to air it and show you all a little bit of what I’ve been up to lately:

Rose Staircase

The plan is to include one or more figures on the staircase.  I’m pretty pleased with the way it’s shaping up so far.

Last night, however, I worked on another little piece just for fun:

Thin Boy

It was inspired by an odd photo I came across.  I took the advice of a brilliant blogger-friend, Elena Encaravela, and distorted my original drawing to achieve an elongated look which I then continued to fine tune just a bit.  It’s just a sketch, but a fun exercise.

The most time was spent on the mouth.  I’m trying to get a better handle on the delicately undulating planes of the lips and area around them.  This is a step in the right direction.

There’s plenty more in the works, so keep checking back… and send your constructive criticism, too… I can handle it.

This entry was published on August 24, 2013 at 11:55 am. It’s filed under Digital Drawing, Drawings, Portraits and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

6 thoughts on “Out of Place / Out of Color

  1. I like the park scene, Gabriel. For some reason it feels very familiar to me… but I also get an ‘indoor feel’ with it; like a TV studio set or something. Looking forward to see where you go with this one!

  2. I love them both, Gabriel. In the first piece it might be awesome to add just a touch of color in the roses. The second piece has lovely, quick strokes–a technique that never seemed to suit my style. Perhaps it’s a control thing, LOL! Elena gave you great advice. I think she’s awesome, too.

    • Thanks as always. I’ve a tendency to work too-quickly. The park scene will probably be an excercise in slowing down and really working something to a highly polished finish… or it might end up staying sketchy. Who knows. I’d love to push the distortion even farther that I did in the portrait. Someday. …

  3. I can’t critique, as I am all thumbs when it comes to using a brush, bit of chalk. But, I do know when I like something. Both items intrigue and I’m especially impressed by that first piece.

Comments are Encouraged:

