Rapt and Apparitions

Let’s start with the bad news:

1)  I haven’t been very productive lately.

2)  I will continue to be unproductive for at least another week.

3)  There is no new art to show you today.

Ouch.  That was kind of painful.  Now how about the good news?

1)  I have not died, just been distracted.

2)  New art should be on the way in the not-too-distant future.

3)  There *is* some never-before-seen *old* art to show you today.

Both pieces in this post belong to the group of fantasy pictures that also includes “The Child Bride”,  “The Next Move” and this recent watercolor sketch.  The first is just a sketch for an as-yet-unrealized illustration of a story told by one of my friends from Las Cruces, New Mexico.

Apparitions - Sketch - reduced

The narrative thread is lost in memory, but the image of two spectral sisters, bound together by their ghostly gown stuck.  Driving through that dusty town late at night I always feared catching a glimpse of them in my headlights.

The second scene is represented below in both its early sketchbook form, and then the beginnings of an unfinished watercolor.  It’s inspired by an advertisement in some magazine that was lying around the studio.  The boy in it looked really out of it, which could only mean one thing: faery magic at work.

Rapt - sketch -reducedThe picture is meant to capture the moment of concern on the girl’s face just before she realizes the boy isn’t playing around – that something bad is happening.  At this point, I’m paralyzed by the feeling that any more work to this piece will ruin it.  Any suggestions on how to work up the nerve to finish?

Rapt - Early - reduced

I like the grasses and the colors of the girl’s pants.  The expression on the boy’s face is off to a good start, too.  The foliage has a richness to the values that is satisfying.

I will be leaving on a week-long vacation in the morning, so it’s unlikely that I’ll be posting anything in the meantime.  Please bear with me.

This entry was published on May 21, 2013 at 10:27 pm. It’s filed under Drawings, Figures, Watercolors and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Rapt and Apparitions

  1. For what it’s worth, I find my creativity coming in bursts, with dry spells in between. Frustrating at times, but nothing to worry about.

    • Thanks for understanding. I live in constant fear of slipping into another creativity draught … like the one that lasted ten years after graduating college! Honestly, I don’t think that’s too likely to repeat itself… I’ve learned a lot of techniques to overcome the barriers that plagued me before… And THIS current dry spell is specifically connected to some short-term distractions.

Comments are Encouraged:

