Liliane

I’ve just returned from vacation, which means I’ve fallen behind on drawing and painting, let alone posting.

I had actually prepared three or four posts before leaving, each one just needing a bit of written commentary and a click to publish them.  However, I hadn’t taken into account the lack of free wifi at the resort where Tony and I were staying.

Enough with the excuses.  Today’s main painting is an odd triumph:

Liliane 2 - blogsize

It was the result of one of those 2-hour portrait sessions at the studio.  For the first hour and a half, this painting was an utter disaster.  In the last half hour, more attention was placed on getting the features described correctly, and that seemed to bring the needed punch to this piece.  The eyes look watery and lost, which seems to add some pathos and mystery to it as well.

The really interesting part – the part that makes this triumph ‘odd’ – is that the sitter was my friend, Liliane.  She’s the one who owns the chickens I painted half a year ago (see post here).  AND she looks NOTHING like the woman in this picture.  She’s much younger, first of all.  More important, she’s a vibrant and ‘present’ – not at all the distracted woman you see here.

Anyway, those of us in attendance that night were very appreciative of her allowing us to paint her.  Below is an alternate sketch from the same session.  Tony prefers this one:

Liliane 1

 

This entry was published on March 29, 2013 at 5:32 pm. It’s filed under Bold Color, Portraits, Watercolors and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

9 thoughts on “Liliane

  1. Pingback: Portrait of Susie Powderhorn | Gabriel Garbow | Artworks

  2. Out of the two, I prefer the first one, Gabriel, but only because it’s more colourful! I always like to make up a little story for the pictures I ‘come across’, and with the first one, the lady is obviously deep in thought, remembering something of great importance… the odd thing that I get is a feeling of a Native American woman for some reason. My imagination.
    The second one seems more matronly and Victorian.
    But I like both.

    • It’s wonderful to hear your interpretations. She does have that far-off, contemplative look.

      And if you don’t want to know my friend’s true ethicity, stop reading right now…. she is Armenian.

  3. Unless your task is to make a portrait, I have no problem with an alternate view based on a model. It’s all good:)

  4. I just like the way you use the paint. Personally I like the second version, if I had to choose

Comments are Encouraged:

