Blue and Not Blue

Last week’s Friday night portrait session was not the most successful.

First, there was the snow.  And a massive traffic snarl nearby the studio due – not to the snow – but to the Minnesota Wild hockey game.

Perhaps some combination of these factors added up to curiously low turnout.  There were two hosts from the Old Town Artists Co-op (I was one of them).  There was one of the regulars who showed up to paint, and there was the model.  That’s all.

The model was the same one as last week, though you’d be hard-pressed to discern that from the paintings.  Neither of the two that I worked on bear any resemblance to her.

Woman II

Blue Woman

I worked on both of them at the same time: alternating between as the watercolor dried.  I wanted to exercise two very different approaches.

The first was a looser, but fairly traditional attempt at a painterly picture.  It uses “realistic” color and a layering of dark and light washes to build up the form.  It fell a little flat for me, due to sloppiness and because the colors were very weak.  I actually boosted the colors in Photoshop for the image used in this post, which helped some.

The second was a fairly successful exercise, but doesn’t rise to the level of fine artwork. It started as a pure line drawing, but in the last ten minutes, I added the watery areas of color.  My only real gripe with this piece is the rework on the lines of the nose.

All in all it was a pleasant evening, but not 100% successful in the output department.  Oh, well.  Next time.

This entry was published on February 22, 2013 at 4:12 pm. It’s filed under Portraits, The Artistic Process, Watercolors and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

6 thoughts on “Blue and Not Blue

  1. Wonderful work. I’m glad you braved out in the snow.

  2. Mike Schultz Paintings on said:

    I like these– especially the blue one. For me noses and lips can be the hardest to capture. That, or I’ll get it right but the overall proportion will be off. Portraiture takes a lot of work, right?

    I love Egon Schiele for his ability to nail something in one go. When you see his work in person it is immediately apparent how final and definite his pencil lines are on the page. It looks like he just slapped his hand down and drew a nose in one line and without hesitation. Something to aspire to!

    • Scheile was spectacular. I tend to draw with greater confidence when working in pencil, but I’m still not that comfortable with watercolor, or a stylus and screen. I need to get over whatever mental hang-ups cause me to second-guess so much.

      Thank you for the observations, Mike.

  3. Both paintings are wonderful, but I’m partial to the blue painting.

Comments are Encouraged:

