At My Most Beautiful / Beautiful Blogger Award

Well it’s finally happened.

The Beautiful Blogger Award has made its way around to my little neck of the blogging woods.  And that choice of phrase is pertinent, since the honor was passed on to me by  The Forester Artist (http://theforesterartist.com) whose blog delights with nature-inspired drawing, painting and photography.

As with so many things, there are a few rules that accompany this honor.

Rule #1: Thank the person who nominated you.

Thank you, Tim Livingston.

That was easy enough. (Whew.)

Rule #2: Post the award image to your page.

Done.

See above.

So far, this is no sweat.

Rule #3: Tell  7 facts about yourself.

  1. I am 33 years old.
  2. I have been a professional baker.  (Red Mountain Cafe in Las Cruces, NM)
  3. I met my partner, Tony, at Red Mountain Cafe in Las Cruces, NM where we both worked.  That was 12 years ago.
  4. In addition to New Mexico, I have lived in Hibbing, Red Wing, and St. Paul, MN and have made three failed attempts to live in Brooklyn, NY.
  5. I don’t have any special fondness for traveling.  Wherever I am is good.
  6. I love talking about myself, but don’t like revealing much.
  7. Both my parents are psychologists.

Rule #4: Nominate 15 other bloggers, and let them know about the nomination.

  1. “Good Humored” by Paprika Furstenburg – a gently witty take on the world.
  2. “Listful Thinking” by Stephanie – Her humor makes me wet myself.
  3. “Draw and Shoot” by Karen McRae – Prolific and exquisitely beautiful nature photography.
  4. “You Monsters Are People” by Matt Posky – A funny, illustrated social commentary blog.
  5. “Every Day I’m Whuffling” by Sonja Alves – collage, drawings, and perspectives on parenting.
  6. “Sarahjaneprosetry” by Sarah Jane -Prose/poetry that that packs a punch.
  7. “The Evolution of Eloquence” by Leo Rex – words and music; poetry and beats.
  8. “Mike Schultz Paintings” by Mike Schultz – A consistent style, carried convincingly across a variety of approaches.
  9. “Artsy Forager” by Leslie Frenz – a new artist featured on each post.  As a curator, Leslie’s eye is flawless.
  10. “Modern Day Epic” – by Rigel Ordinario – A serialized sci-fi fantasy in verse!
  11. “And Other Such Things” by Gaia Cornwall – Impeccable illustration for the whole family.
  12. Seth McWhorter’s Digital Sketchbook” by Seth McWhorter – amazingly accurate drawings of everyday objects, and other things.
  13. “Tin Roof Press” by Janine Shroff – Illustrations and assorted musings.
  14. “Rob’s Schetsblog” by Rob van Doeselaar – the most beautiful drawings I’ve seen in a long time… with a penchant for fuzzy fabrics!
  15. “Sylvia Tay Designs” by Sylvia Tay – textile designs that inspire!

Whoa boy!  That was the hard part.  Deciding who to nominate, and then putting together fitting recognitions of each.

Meanwhile… a couple of drawing from a recent model sitting at the studio.  The sitter is the daughter of my studiomate, Rebecca True.  Both images are colored pencil and are also on the large side: about 14″x 20″  I think.  Enjoy.

 

 

This entry was published on October 21, 2012 at 10:41 pm. It’s filed under About, Drawings, Figures, Humor, Opinion and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

15 thoughts on “At My Most Beautiful / Beautiful Blogger Award

  1. Beautiful blogger indeed!

  2. Hi Gabriel, please accept my sincere apology for the late reply!
    Congratulations on your well deserved award! To me, you are indeed a beautiful blogger ~ inspirational, broad minded and giving.. 🙂
    I’m am deeply honored to be nominated by you and I truly appreciate your kind gesture! You have been the encouraging and talented “virtual friend” who leaves comments that is such a delight to receive and I am forever grateful for that! Silly as this may sound.. but I would like to politely decline as I feel I am not ready… I would be putting more time into creating, blogging and blog surfing soon.. once my hands are less tied… and a big thank you to you, my friend 🙂

    • Hey, Sylvia… no need to apologize. And no pressure with the award thing either. Life can get really hectic. It’s actually great that you know what’s important to focus on; and don’t let anything distract you from that 😉

  3. Gabriel, thank you.
    You have written very kind words and I am appreciative.
    Your drawings are gorgeous!
    Karen

    • You are welcome. Your photography has been giving me shivers every since I came across your blog a year ago, for which I am thankful.

      Thank you also for the compliment. I am finally getting to the point where some of my drawings (wolf, deer, falcon) and watercolors (child bride, boats) seem capable of stirring a bit of an emotional response in people.

      Until recently, most of my work has been technically competent, fun and frequently whimsical. But your work moves in a deeper way that I would love to be able to attain on a regular basis. Anyway, thanks again for setting the bar *high* and reminding me what art is capable of.

  4. Anonymous on said:

    What? I thought you were 27…..I will check out the other blogs…..thanks for sharing!

    • I have never in my life been 27 years old. That’s a nasty rumor started by a former friend. 😉

      I hope you enjoy the sites I’ve recognized for their thought-provoking and entertaining perspectives.

  5. Well done, Gabriel, on receiving the award and passing it on! I always politely decline them, but it is, like you say, an honour to receive them all the same!
    I like your use of colour in the drawing; it does have a rainbow effect which is very effective.

    • I just felt like doing something a little different. The color choices were ‘inspired by’ the actual colors i was observing, but in a pretty loose way. Kind of like movies ‘inspired by’ true events.

    • …And I, too, have declined this sort of ‘award’ before. When I think about the award one way, it seems very silly, but when I think about it another way, it seems very sincere. Plus, it’s an opportunity to get little more of a back-and-forth going.

  6. sarahjaneprosetry on said:

    Congrats to you and I am deeply honored.

  7. well deserved, you earned it

    • I feel bashful about these things, because they seem so arbitrary, but then I think of the thought and effort and sincerity I put into the people *I* chose to ‘honor’ and I realize it really is an honor. …and Thanks.

Comments are Encouraged:

