Teetering…

Although I resisted the urge to give this post a musical title, the picture below was took Suede’s “My Insatiable One” as a jumping-off point.  Also floating around in my mind were:

  1. Dick Grayson (of Batman comics fame)
  2. “Velouria” by the Pixies (the song)
  3. “Bird in Space” by Constantin Brancusi (sculpture)
  4. Picasso’s harlequin paintings (but oddly, not Kuhns’)
  5. And some of Hockney’s early prints depicting stages

It’s not exactly a polished piece.  (And this photograph distorts the color)  Let’s call it a full-color sketch.  But I like it well enough.  On display is a more imaginative side than the reality-based pictures I’ve been mostly painting for the past few months.

I *used* to spend hours filling reams of paper with made-up characters.  Sketchbooks were crammed cover-to-cover with doodles.  The margins of homework assignments contained bizarre creatures doing silly things.

Then the Muse took a vacation.  A kind of long, around-the-world sort of vacation.  Well now she’s back…

…and she’s brought postcards.

Those postcards have already started to crop up as some of the digital drawings that have made their way to the blog.  This piece, however, which I’m calling “Tightrope” actually came first.  It came out of the same sessions that produced the “splatter-apple” This may be evident, since a similar technique is employed on the lower left-hand side of this big top pic.  But this time it’s totally different.  Because it’s yellow ochre, not red.  Nothing the same.

The main thing I was trying to convey in this piece was disorientation: an overwhelming of the senses, and maybe a bit of vulnerability being put up in front of the crowds.  Or, the imagined crowds, as I don’t see anyone actually sitting in those bleachers.  Was this deliberate, or I just not feel like making a couple hundred little faces?

To achieve the dizzying effect, I employed vivid colors, swirling spots of paint, a suggestion of great height, and converging lines.  We all know the red and white candy-stripe canvas of the tent should run more-or-less parallel to each other, but here they converge at jagged intervals.

How does this piece make YOU feel?  Leave your comments below.

This entry was published on August 1, 2012 at 1:21 pm. It’s filed under Bold Color, Drawings, Figures, Style, Watercolors and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Teetering…

  1. I LOVE this piece and it makes me feel happy and daring! I would like to buy it from you, if possible. But will have to wait until I have a job with steady income coming in. Is this possible? Send me a message on FB and let me know. 🙂 ~k

    • It’s great to hear from you, Kelly. Your interest is some strong praise, indeed. I’d be happy to work with you on this. I hope you also enjoy browsing the rest of the posts in this blog!

Comments are Encouraged:

